MANILA

I can’t count the number of times I’ve been to Manila. I’ve been traveling there for about seven years at the end of every school year, or if I have a long break. Fun fact is, this is the first place I’ve ever traveled on the plane, and it was the time I fell in love with traveling. I think this is one of the reasons why Manila has a special place in my life, despite the hot weather, and let’s not forget traffic congestion. It’s been my go-to place when I just want to get away from Cebu and just do a detox and forget about everybody and social media for a while. It’s like when I get there, I’m in a new place, and nobody really knows me, and I just forget all that’s going on in my life in Cebu. While taking that break, it really helps me to think straight and face reality again with a lot more courage. So what you’re going to read next is a summary of my adventures, which is the best and most memorable to me.

I can’t really remember when this was, but this was the time that my cousin agreed to come with me to Manila, and my mother, who works there, surprised us with a three-day stay in a condotel. It was a great experience since she allowed us to wander around and the fact that it was near SM Mall of Asia, where every Friday and Saturday at exactly 7:00 PM they have a firework display and we were able to witness it from our place.

Sadly, this was the only photo that I was able to find of my first laag in Manila with a friend. I think this was the summer after Grade 7? Me and Jezie were still so ihas being able to laag in a place that wasn’t Cebu. It was just so memorable, after swimming we went to eat dinner at a pizza place which again I can’t remember where it was. 😥

Okay, let’s move to the recent ones! Honestly, this is my fave so far!

This was the best! I mean, I’ve never thought, and I’ve never seen this coming, that I’m going to spend time with Xydel in Manila. This happened when I posted an Instagram story of my arrival in Manila and she replied to my story and told me she’s also in Manila and we should meet up and of course I said yes. This happened December 26, 2019 and what I really love about this laag is that it was really spontaneous. Since we’re not that familiar with the public transportation there, we ended up walking a long mile from Venice Grand Canal Mall to Market! Market! with the help of our online maps because we wanted to buy some ukay-ukay there and thankfully we didn’t end up spending a lot of money, haha! But I swear guys, the clothes in Market! Market! will not disappoint you to the point that I went back there together with my mother. After shopping, we strolled around Bonifacio High Street and tried Tiger Sugar which is a milk tea place and I think it’s still not available in Cebu, and guys it’s the best milk tea I’ve tasted so far. I recommend you to opt for the Brown Sugar Boba Milk with Cream Mousse, it’s their best seller! 😉

Leave a comment